Featured Article
Gun Violence Restraining Orders in California
Gun Violence Restraining Orders in California

Has a close family member or a law enforcement officer asked the court to issue a Gun Violence Restraining Order against you in California? If the answer is “Yes” and this person was successful, you may have questions about Gun Violence Restraining orders, what they are and ...

Read More

Blog posts in Domestic Violence

  • What if There is a Domestic Violence Restraining Order Against Me?

    Has your spouse, a romantic partner, or a family member obtained a domestic violence restraining order against you? If so, you probably have a lot of ...

    View More
  • Can I Be Deported for Domestic Violence?

    When immigrants come to the United States, they are expected to abide by our state and federal laws. While not every criminal offense will result in ...

    View More
  • Responding to a Restraining Order in California

    A lot of people have misconceptions about domestic violence , and in effect, their confusions about the law end up landing them on the other side of a ...

    View More
  • Understanding Civil Harassment in California

    What is civil harassment in California and how is it different than domestic violence? Civil harassment is a lot like domestic violence , but what ...

    View More
  • What is a Civil Harassment Restraining Order?

    You’ve heard about domestic violence, which typically involves threats, sexual assault , and actual violence between family members. In many ...

    View More
  • What Counts as a Crime Against Society?

    When you hear the term, “crimes against the society,” what types of images come to mind? Public intoxication, gambling, prostitution, spousal abuse ? ...

    View More
  • Can I Be Deported for Domestic Violence?

    Oakland and the rest of the East Bay are notorious for having a large immigrant population, which undoubtedly enriches our culture in more ways than ...

    View More
  • Oakland DUI & Child Endangerment

    In Oakland and throughout California, a first time driving under the influence (DUI) offense is punishable by 3 to 5 years’ probation, up to 6 months ...

    View More
  • Who can be Considered a Victim of Domestic Violence?

    If you have been arrested and charged with domestic violence, it may come as a surprise to you – especially if you are unmarried. Is a physical ...

    View More