Hit and Run Lawyer California
Oakland Hit and Run
If you are involved in an accident of any kind in the State of California, you are required by law to remain at the accident scene or make a reasonable attempt to notify the owner of the property and authorities. Failure to do so could result in you being arrested and charged with hit and run. Depending on the circumstances surrounding the accident and the severity of the accident, you could be charged with either a felony or a misdemeanor.
Contact our California hit and run attorneys today!
Misdemeanor Hit and Run California
California Vehicle Code 20002VC recognizes that California drivers have 3 duties after an accident that causes damage to another person's property:
- Stop your vehicle immediately
- Give identifying information to other party
- Provide driver's license and vehicle registration on request
If you hit a parked vehicle or the property of a homeowner who is not home, then you are obligated to leave a conspicuously placed note with your identifying information included and contact your local police department.
Mary backed into a mailbox while leaving a friend's house. Since it was dark, and no one saw the incident, Mary left without notifying the homeowner of the damage. In this situation, Mary would be guilty of misdemeanor hit and run and could find herself in serious trouble.
If you fail to meet any of the above requirements, then you could be charged with misdemeanor hit and run---even if you are not ultimately responsible for the accident.
Property damage could be personal property (such as a shopping cart in a grocery store parking lot), private property (such as a fence or mailbox), or pets.
Penalties for Hit and Run Misdemeanor California
If you are found guilty of a misdemeanor hit and run in Oakland or anywhere in the State of California, you face serious consequences and penalties, including:
- Up to 3 years informal probation
- Up to 6 months in jail
- Up to $1000 fines
- Restitution to victim of property damage
- 2 points on your California driving record
Defenses Against Misdemeanor Hit and Run CA
If you were not driving the vehicle at the time of the accident, your California hit and run lawyer would be able to have the charge against you dismissed. Also, if your vehicle was the only one who sustained damage, then your lawyer could employ this as a defense against hit and run charges.
In some cases, especially first-time offenses with no aggravating circumstances, your Oakland hit and run lawyer may be able to have you engage in a civil compromise. This would allow you to fully reimburse the victim for their property damage. Once you have done so, the hit and run charges are dismissed.
Real results require real experience, and we have over 10 years of it. We proudly help clients in Oakland, Berkeley, Richmond, Concord, and the surrounding areas!
Call The Law Office of Nabiel C. Ahmed today at (510) 907-6600. Consultation is free, so call our California hit and run lawyers today.
We Don't Let Our Clients Down
"Better Than Expected Result"Mr. Ahmed did his thing to make sure I did not spend one day in jail! His ability to explain everything along the way really helped through this stressful episode.- Francisco C.
"Huge Help to Me and My Family"Nabiel was able to negotiate a great plea and avoid serious charges. This was especially important since we were looking at significant charges despite this being a first offense.- Alex G.
"Understands and Has Great Communication"He worked hard and diligently while going the extra mile. He was patient and caring during my ordeal and even followed up and checked on me afterwards.- Adarice
"I recommend Nabiel over the rest!"Mr Ahmed is a very knowledgeable attorney. He went above and beyond to help me with my case. He also gave me sound advice and went over my options.- Marshall