If a driver is found guilty of driving under the influence (DUI) in California, he or she will be ordered to successfully complete one of the state’s four DUI programs. In California, the four DUI programs include the Wet Reckless Program, the First Offender Program, the 18-Month Program, and the 30-Month Program.
Here’s what you need to know about the length of these programs:
- The Wet Reckless Program involves 12 hours of DUI education.
- The First Offender Program involves 30 hours of drug and alcohol education.
- The 18-Month Program involves 52 hours of group counseling and 12 hours of alcohol and drug education.
- The 30-Month Program involves 78 hours of group counseling, 12 hours of drug and alcohol education, and up to 300 hours of community service.
The numbers of hours described above do not paint a complete picture because each program does have additional requirements, but this gives you a good idea of just how much time a DUI defendant must invest before successfully completing DUI School. To learn more about these four programs, click here.
Can I Still Drive?
When DUI defendants learn how much time is involved in their court-ordered DUI program, often they’ll think to themselves, “I have no idea how I’m going to complete that program. I have other responsibilities!”
If you’ve thought something similar, you have plenty of company but we must warn you: If you fail to complete your DUI program, there will never be any way around it. In order for you to drive legally, you must successfully complete all of the program requirements.
“Since the DUI falls off my driving record in 10 years, can I just wait it out and then obtain a driver license without having to finish my DUI School?” Nope, it doesn’t work that way. Even if you ride a bicycle for the next 10 years or take the bus or Uber everywhere, you can’t show up at the DMV 10 years from the date of the DUI arrest and expect them to issue you a driver license.
Unfortunately, there is no statute of limitations that will run out, making it okay for you to run to the DMV and get a license without completing your DUI School. Even if 10 or 20 years go by, you’ll still have to complete your DUI program before you can regain the privilege to drive.
If you were convicted of DUI and you never completed your DUI program, your California driver license is likely suspended. Our advice is to call up the DMV and ask them about the status of your license. Failing to complete your DUI School is also a probation violation; therefore, there could be a warrant for your arrest right now.
Our advice is to contact our firm right away to speak with our Oakland DUI attorney who can help you fix this issue once and for all so you can drive legally again!