Authorities report that over the Memorial Day weekend, Temecula-based California Highway Patrol officers made more than a dozen arrests for suspicion of drunk driving. Hundreds of traffic citations were issued also.
During the “maximum enforcement period,” designated as 6 p.m. Friday through Monday at 11:59 p.m., CHPs deployed all available officers. Over that period of time, officers made 17 arrests based on suspicion of driving under the influence. Officers reported that number was down from 20 arrests during Memorial Day weekend the previous year.
Additionally, six accidents with injuries were reported, along with ten non-injury incidents. Over the Memorial Day weekend 2014, Temecula-based officers responded to sixteen accidents with injuries and 2 non-injury crashes. CHP officers issued 300 traffic citations this year compared to 275 tickets last year.
Penalties for California DUI
In California, the punishment for each successive DUI conviction within a 10-year time frame becomes more stringent. This makes DUIs “priorable” offenses. In this 10-year period, also known as a “washout” or “lookback” period, other convictions such as California “wet reckless” and out-of-state convictions that would be considered DUI if committed in California, will count against a driver.
Depending on whether an individual is dealing with their first, second, third, or subsequent DUI conviction, the penalties for driving under the influence in California can be stiff.
Provided there are no bodily injuries or fatalities resulting from the DUI, the minimum penalties for a misdemeanor first conviction include:
- Monetary fines and assessments totaling approximately $1,800
- A 48-hour jail sentence or 90-day license restriction
- Compulsory attendance and completion of a 3-month alcohol treatment program at the motorists expense- a BAC of 0.20% or higher requires a 9-month treatment program
- Minimum 30-day license revocation
With subsequent misdemeanor convictions, motorists will face the installation of an ignition interlock device, more expensive fines, longer jail time, stricter license revocation, and possible impoundment of their vehicle.
If someone is hurt or killed by an individual driving under the influence, that motorist could be convicted of a felony and be sentenced to California state prison for one to five years, depending on whether it is the driver’s first, second, third offense. Prior convictions for misdemeanor DUI as well as prior convictions for alcohol-related reckless driving all count as prior offenses for the purpose of determining a violator’s prison sentence. Additionally, a driver convicted of a fourth DUI during a washout period could be charged with a felony, even if no one was hurt or injured as a result of the DUI.
Contact Our Oakland DUI Defense Attorneys
If you are facing DUI charges, it is imperative that you discuss your case with an experienced Oakland DUI lawyer as soon as possible. The Law Office of Nabiel C. Ahmed is ready to help. Start by calling us at (510) 907-6600.